Capote Cupcake from Muddy’s Bake Shop

Similar to a lot of the posts on this blog, this is not the first time I’ve eaten at the establishment I am sampling from. Muddy’s is a Memphis mainstay and on my first visit to Memphis my then-girlfriend (now wife) took me there so I could experience the awesomeness. This is not that story.

This story takes place on January 24th, 2013.

#32 on 100+ Things to Eat in Memphis – Capote Cupcake from Muddy’s Bake Shop.

This story picks up from the end of the last post about Central’s BBQ Nachos. We had just had an amazing, savoury meal and were in the mood for something sweet to end the night. I mentally consulted the lists, and came up with two options:

  1. Finish off Gibson’s Donuts by getting a Red Velvet Donut, or
  2. Go to Muddy’s and get Prozac and Capote cupcakes

This was a no-lose situation. Considering the pot to draw from at Gibson’s was smaller than Muddy’s, we went there first. I had presumed that they would be out, and I was correct. Red Velvet is one of their most popular sellers. The last time we went, they were out too, and this time we arrived a good 3 hours later in the day. Time for plan B.
(Please realise that Muddy’s as a plan B in no way diminishes their prestige. It is only due to my wanting to “finish” an establishment that Muddy’s would be considered such.)

mary_kepa_joined-832Muddy’s is simply amazing. So amazing that we had them do cupcakes (and a strawberry cake for cutting) for our wedding. We LOVE that they’re a local business that is putting out such a quality product, and it shows in their popularity. Sometimes they’re just too popular, as was the case this evening.

We arrived at Muddy’s around 7.30pm, walked in the store and waited in line. A line at 7.30pm in a bakery… It wasn’t a super-long line, thankfully, but it definitely wasn’t something I was expecting. We got up to the case and wouldn’t you know it, they were out of both Prozac and Capote. My heart sunk, but then I realised I was still going to be eating something from Muddy’s, and everything was okay again. I had decided that their Grasshopper cupcake would be the one I’d go with and was just about to order when out came a tray of Capotes!

Untitled Untitled

We had planned to eat our cupcake and slice of cake (my wife got a slice of carrot cake) at the store, but, with my luck being restored to it’s usually unremarkable level, all of the seats were taken. It was too cold to eat outside, so we had to quickly change plans. The images you see of the store above were from 2010 on my first trip to the U.S.A. Unfortunately, due to them being busy, we weren’t able to get a takeout box, and one of the servers gave us a bag instead (makes for a messy slice of cake).

We rushed home, because who can keep a cupcake waiting, and quickly snapped a couple of pics before digging in.

Muddy's capote cupcake

Every cupcake I’ve had from Muddy’s is a lesson in what cupcakes SHOULD be, and it starts with their frosting. Until you’ve had one of their cupcakes, you have no idea how amazing it is. It is the creamiest, smoothest buttercream I’ve ever tasted, with not one hint of graininess, and the Capote is no exception. The flavour may have been lacking in vanilla, but I liked that it didn’t abuse you with vanilla flavour, and the sweetness was just right.

Muddy's capote cupcakeWhere the Capote cupcake shines is in its balance. The amount of frosting for the cupcake is perfect. The chocolate cupcake has very little sweetness with hints of, what seemed like, coffee running through it. This creates the perfect rhythm section for the frosting’s solos. It truly is all about balance with the Capote, and it is expertly achieved by Muddy’s.

My next trip to Muddy’s will be for a Prozac Cupcake (I’ve already had one, but it has been so long that I need a refresher ;). Why don’t you head down to Muddy’s as soon as possible and try one of their amazing cupcakes for yourself!

One thought on “Capote Cupcake from Muddy’s Bake Shop

  1. Fairy Koelling says:

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

Leave a Reply

